from book “Poesie” by Emily Dickinson (1862)

Three times – we parted – Breath – and I –

Three times – He would not go –

But strove to stir the lifeless Fan

The Waters – strove to stay.

 

Three Times – the Billows tossed me up –

Then caught me – like a Ball –

Then made Blue faces in my face –

And pushed away a sail

 

That crawled Leagues off – I liked to see –

For thinking – while I die –

How pleasant to behold a Thing

Where Human faces – be –

 

The Waves grew sleepy – Breath – did not –

The Winds – like Children – lulled –

Then Sunrise kissed my Chrysalis –

And I stood up – and lived –

(Emily Dickinson)

 

 

(Traduzione)

Tre volte – ci separammo – il respiro – e io –

tre volte  non volle andare –

ma cercò di smuovere il ventaglio spento

che le acque – cercavano di arrestare.

 

Tre volte – le onde mi gettarono a galla –

poi mi presero – come una palla –

poi mostrarono facce blu alla mia faccia –

e spinsero via una vela

 

che strisciava lontana – e mi piaceva vedere –

per pensare – mentre morivo

che bello guardare una cosa

con sopra – facce umane –

 

Le onde si assopirono – il respiro – no –

i venti – come bambini – si quietarono –

poi l’alba baciò la mia crisalide –

e io mi alzai – e vissi –

 

About Stella Olrich

Life is poetry when we are at peace with ourselves
This entry was posted in Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment