“Last words to Miriam” by bookk “Lawrence Poesie d’amore” edit Newton

Yours is the sullen sorrow,

The disgrace is also mine;

Your love was intense and thorough.

Mine was the love of a growing flower

For the sunshine.

You had the power to explore me,

Blossom me stalk by stalk;

You woke my spirit, you bore me

To consciousness, you gave me the dour

Awareness – then I suffered a balk.

Body to body I could not

Love you, although I would.

We kissed, we kissed though we should not.

You yielded, we threw the last cast,

And it was no good.

You only endured, and it broke

My craftsman’s nerve.

No flesh responded to my stroke;

So I failed to give you the last

Fine torture you did deserve.

You are shapely, you are adorned

But opaque and null in the flesh;

Who, had I but pierced with the thorned

Full anguish, perhaps had been cast

In a lovely illumined mesh

Like a painted window; the best

Fire passed through your flesh,

Undrossed it, and left it blest

In clean new awareness. But now

Who shall take you afresh?

Now who will burn you free

From your body’s deadness and dross?

Since the fire has failed in me,

What man will stoop in your flesh to plough

The shrieking cross?

A mute, nearly beautiful thing

Is your face, that fills me with shame

As I see it hardening;

I should have been cruel enough to bring

You through the flame.

(David Herbert Lawrence)

(Traslat)

“Ultime parole per Miriam”

Tua è l’imbronciata tristezza,

anche mia è l’umiliazione;

era intenso il tuo amore e profondo,

il mio quello d’un fiore

che cresce alla luce del sole.

Avevi il potere d’esplorarmi,

stelo per stelo di farmi fiorire;

svegliasti il mio spirito, alla coscienza

mi generavi, dandomi dura

consapevolezza: poi subii una sconfitta.

Corpo  contro corpo amarti

non potevo, sebbene volessi;

ci baciavamo e ribaciavamo benché non dovessimo.

Ti concedesti, la prova estrema tentammo

e non ci riuscì.

Tu sopportavi soltanto, inerte,

e ciò indebolì il mio nerbo d’artefice.

Non rispondeva la carne al mio assalto

così non riuscii a darti l’ultima

raffinata tortura che meritavi.

Armoniosa sei di forme, curata,

ma passiva e ottusa nella carne;

se ti avessi trafitto coll’angoscia

gonfia di spine, forse ti saresti trasformata

in un’adorabile trama risplendente

come una finestra policroma; il fuoco

migliore passato sarebbe traverso il tuo corpo

purificandolo, consacrato quindi

in una pura coscienza vergine. Ma ora

chi ti prenderà di nuovo?

chi ora ti darà il suo ardore per liberare

dalla caducità e impurità il tuo corpo?

Poiché il fuoco in me è venuto meno,

qual uomo sulla tua carne si chinerà

per fendere l’insopportabile tormento?

Una muta cosa, meravigliosa quasi,

è il tuo viso, che mi colma di vergogna

quando tendersi i lineamenti ne vedo;

avrei dovuto essere insensibile abbastanza

per portarti attraverso la fiamma.

About Stella Olrich

Life is poetry when we are at peace with ourselves
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment