“Annabel Lee” by book “Poe – tutte le poesie”

It was many and many a year ago,

In a Kingdom by the sea.

That a maiden there lived whom you may know

By the name of Annabel Lee: –

And this maiden she lived with no other thought

Than to love and be loved by me.

I was a child and she was a child,

In this Kingdom by the sea;

But we loved with a love that was more than love –

I and my Annabel Lee –

With a love that the wingéd seraphs in Heaven

Coveted her and me.

And this was the reason that, long ago,

In this Kingdom by the sea,

A wind blew out of a cloud, chilling

My beautiful Annabel Lee:

So that her high-born kinsmen came

And bore her  away from me,

To shut her up in a sepulchre,

In this Kingdom by the sea.

The angels, not half so happy in Heaven,

Went envying her and me –

Yes! – that was the reason (as all men know,

In this Kingdom by the sea)

That the wind came out of the cloud by night,

Chilling and Killing my Annabel Lee.

But our love it was stronger by far than the love

Of those who were older than we –

Of many far wiser than we –

And neither the angels in Heaven above,

Nor the demons down under the sea,

Can ever dissever my soul from the soul

Of the beautiful Annabel Lee: –

For the moon never beams, without bringing me

dreams

Of the beautiful Annabel Lee;

And the stars never rise, but I feel the bright eyes

of the beautiful Annabel Lee: –

And so, all the night-tide, I lie down by the side

Of my darling – my darling – my life and my bride.

In her sepulcre there by the sea –

In her tomb by the sounding sea.

(Edgar Allan Poe – 1849)

(Traslat)

“Annabel Lee”

Or sono molti e molti anni,

in un regno in riva al mare,

viveva una fanciulla che col nome

chiamerete di  Annabel Lee;

e viveva questa fanciulla con non altro pensiero

che d’amarmi e d’essere amata da me.

Io ero un bimbo e lei una bimba,

in questo regno in riva al mare:

ma ci amavamo d’un amore ch’era più che amore –

io e la mia Annabel Lee –

d’un amore che gli alati serafini in cielo

invidiavano a lei ed a me.

E fu per questo che – oh, molto tempo fa –

in questo regno in riva al mare

un vento soffiò da una nube, raggelando

la mia bella Annabel Lee;

così che vennero i suoi nobili parenti

e la portarono da me lontano,

per rinchiuderla in un sepolcro,

in questo regno in riva al mare.

Gli angeli, in cielo non così felici come noi,

a lei e a me portarono invidia –

oh sì! E fu per questo (come tutti ben conoscono

in questo regno in riva al mare)

che una notte quel vento irruppe dalla nube

raggelando e uccidendo la mia Annabel Lee.

Ma molto era più forte il nostro amore

che l’amor d’altri di noi più grandi –

che l’amor d’altri di noi più savi –

e né gli angeli lassù nel cielo

né i demoni dentro al profondo mare

mai potranno separar la mia anima dall’anima

della bella Annabel Lee;

giacché mai raggia la luna che non mi porti sogni

della bella Annabel Lee: –

e mai si leva stella ch’io non senta gli occhi

della bella Annabel Lee: –

e così, nelle notti, io giaccio al fianco

del mio amore – mio amore – mia vita e mia sposa,

nel suo sepolcro lì in riva al mare,

nella sua tomba in riva al mare risuonante.

 

Informazioni su Stella Olrich

Life is poetry when we are at peace with ourselves
Questa voce è stata pubblicata in Books e contrassegnata con , , . Contrassegna il permalink.

Rispondi

